Let people be

I’ve been thinking a lot about the kill the gays bill in Uganda and I’ve been trying to sort out my thoughts about it. I’m trying to get something coherent and intelligent. Unfortunately, this is a very obscene and incomprehensible event. I can’t rationally approach it. So, you get:
Fuck!

It’s not I love you but hate what you do.
It’s not I love you but think your lifestyle is a sin.
It’s not I love you but think God can make you better.
It’s not I love you but think you’re better off dead than how you are.
It’s not I love you but God hates you.
It’s not I love you but you’re eternally condemned to Hell.
It’s not I love you but my pastor says you are ruining America.

It’s just I love you.

That’s it. If you must add…

I love you because you are my neighbor.
I love you because God loves you.
I love you because we all sin and need each others’ support.
I love you because God can make us all better.
I love you because you can also love me without judgment.
I love you because it is our greatest commandment and my blessed honor.
I love you because there’s no room for condemnation.
I love you because it’s possible the people who say ‘hate’ are wrong about gays.

Seriously. Let people be.

Leave a Reply

