Tea bagging is undignified for the GOP and I don’t like Facebook jerks

Very recently, I was randomly personally attacked by a “right-wing conservative” on Facebook. It was someone else’s facebook and this other person just started in on me when I wasn’t even talking to them or saying anything particularly specific or offensive. The guy was so full-throttle in his argument that he had the whole argument, including my part, before I’d even realized it was happening. It had incredible amounts of the ridiculous and jumped illogically from irrational conclusion to irrational conclusion. I looked at the public elements of the guy’s profile and found out he was a Republican Roman Catholic who had been a fan of Sarah Palin, Scott Brown, and Glenn Beck. Then I understood that I had suffered a hit and run by the Hummer of stupid. He seemed quite satisfied with himself when I told him to fan Rush Limbaugh to make the picture complete.

“Liberals are all so stupid. They just personally insult people because there wrong all the time!”
Actual quote, with typographical error in tact.

Apparently, I also threatened him. Lord only knows how!

Overall, I am confused and upset by the severity of the smug insults being hurdled by self-identified “right-wing conservatives” towards anyone in disagreement, whether that be the President or an individual who doesn’t hate the President. I’m having a hard time getting over that there is a growing population of people who are willfully ignorant and proudly loud about it in pointless defiance of nothing for the sake of unproductive attention whoring.

The concept of the Tea Party seems to be taking the original Sons of Liberty spirit and coupling it with the bratty aggression of “Bender” (Judd Nelson, The Breakfast Club, 1985) in a situation that warrants neither rebellion nor protest, but would do best with calm, sensible lobbying and voting. This new organization is promoting the lowest common denominator to represent and lead, further diluting any hope of logic or reasonable discussion.

I’ve said for a lot of years that I’m a bedwetting far-left liberal. But I’m not. I just felt that way because “W” was so abusing of “conservative” and “Republican” views. There’s some merely left and even some conservative views that I hold. I’ve decided to start self-identifying as Moderate for proper context, although I still seem to be called a liberal as an attempted insult, anyway.

There’s been so much criticism of the DNC lately that can be summarized by saying Democrats no longer have an identity and need to reorganize a party message and rededicate themselves to that message. I agree with that criticism completely. I also believe the RNC/GOP needs to take a serious inward look at their politics and message. When more time is spent slandering the perceived opposition and promoting ignorance so further slander can be spread, there’s no governing. If there’s no governing, I don’t want those individuals in office. I would prefer people who want to work. Our government has become severely partisan and it is my wish that if partisan politics are going to be maintained, despite requests from the President for bi-partisan cooperation on initiatives that benefit the entire country, that we do so in the form of an intelligent debate that has each side firmly planted in their own message and goals. Since the GOP has a legacy that it is proud of, certain care should be made to distance itself from volatile and irreconcilable Tea Party.

Not to mention that this petty middle school name-calling crap is wearing on my nerves.

Leave a Reply

