NaNoWriMo

Who’s not talking about NaNoWriMo? It’s all that’s on anyone’s blogs for the first week of November.

National Novel Writing Month [NaNoWriMo] is the time when anyone with a computer commits themselves to writing a novel in 30 days. This commitment lasts about 15 days tops. That’s okay. They’ll start all over again next November. It’s the dream that counts.

I decided not to participate in NaNoWriMo 2010, despite participation in every year since 2002. I don’t have a flair for fiction. I love non-fiction, which is why history nerd friendly sites like Wikipedia and Waymarking have been right up my alley. I suppose that I could have committed to writing a 50,000 page non-fiction novel on the local historical landscape, but I question the need for such a book. Of course, there’s tens of thousands of people right now trying to churn out another vampire romance so perhaps I’m overthinking.

To learn more about NaNoWriMo, visit www.NaNoWriMo.org.

Leave a Reply

